People

NZ Work Research Institute has a core team of 20 members who front our deliverables. The institute also has a strong membership of over 70 research experts across five research groups. Together we produce research which is relevant to policy makers in business, government and the community.

Meet the team

Gail Pacheco
Director

Gail has considerable experience leading funded projects involving both academic and industry collaborations.

Email: gail.pacheco@aut.ac.nz
Academic profile

Jarrod Haar
Associate Director (Human Resource Management)

Jarrod has tribal affiliations of Ngati Maniapoto and Ngati Mahuta. His expertise lies with quantitative research.

Email: jarrod.haar@aut.ac.nz
Academic profile

Lisa Meehan
Associate Director (Economics and Research)

Lisa’s experience spans international governmental organisation, the NZ public sector and economic consulting.

Alexander Plum
Senior Research Fellow, Leadership Team

Alex's research interests comprise labour economics and social welfare.

Email: alexander.plum@aut.ac.nz
Academic profile

Kabir Dasgupta
Senior Research Fellow

Kabir’s research involves health and labour economics, applied econometrics and policy analysis.

Email: kabir.dasgupta@aut.ac.nz
Academic profile

Christopher Erwin
Research Fellow

Chris’ specialities include the economics of education, labour economics and more generally applied microeconomics.

Email: christopher.erwin@aut.ac.nz
Academic profile

Juliana Hennecke
Research Fellow

Juliana’s areas of interest include microeconomics, behavioural economics and labour and population economics.

Katherine Ravenswood
Leadership Team

Katherine’s expertise includes care/work regimes, gender and employee wellbeing, and inequality, power and voice at work.

Email: katherine.ravenswood@aut.ac.nz
Academic profile

Marcus Ho
Leadership Team

Marcus’ research and teaching themes lie at the nexus of wellbeing and performance, entrepreneurship and HRM.

Email: marcus.ho@aut.ac.nz
Academic profile

Erling Rasmussen
Leadership Team

Erling’s teaching and research interests are comparative employment relations, with a special interest in the effects of public policy changes.

Email: erling.rasmussen@aut.ac.nz
Academic profile

Antonio Dias Andrade
Leadership Team

Antonio leads the World Internet Project (NZ) longitudinal survey which analyses the attitudes toward the internet and its usage in New Zealand.

Email: antonio.dias@aut.ac.nz
Academic profile

Marjolein Lips-Wiersma
Leadership Team

Marjo leads the Map of Meaningful Work project, which creates a holistic development survey to guide meaningful work, lives and societies.

Email: marjo.lipswiersma@aut.ac.nz
Academic profile

Mary Hedges
Research Developer

Mary works in the areas of labour economics, behavioural economics and life-course econometric modelling.

Email: mary.hedges@aut.ac.nz
Academic profile

Tony Burton
Visiting Research Fellow

Tony is a former Deputy Chief Economic Advisor at the New Zealand Treasury. He led the development of the Living Standards Framework.

Email: tony.burton@aut.ac.nz

Leon Iusitini
PhD Student

Leon is a PhD student researching intergenerational income mobility in New Zealand using Statistics NZ’s Integrated Data Infrastructure.

Email: leon.iusitini@aut.ac.nz
Academic profile

Alexandra Turcu
Research Assistant

Alex assists with the development and execution of various research projects across the Institute.

Email: alexandra.turcu@aut.ac.nz

Livvy Mitchell
Institute Administrator, Research Assistant

Livvy assists with the running of the Institute and contributes to a range of research projects. Her work days are Monday – Thursday.

Email: livvy.mitchell@aut.ac.nz

Tamara Tesolin
Institute Manager

Tamara looks after the day-to-day running of the institute. Her work days are Monday and Wednesday – Friday.

Email: tamara.tesolin@aut.ac.nz

Institute members, advisory board and research associates

Our team consists of a number of researchers, associates and a professional leadership team.

Who we work with

Q+A with the team

We sat down with our members to ask questions about their career and what they enjoy doing to unwind in their spare time.

Read more

Contact us

For any general enquiries, please get in touch.

Contact us